PAYMENTS FOR MODEL TRAFFIC CODE VIOLATIONS (SUMMONS/COMPLAINT) AND SURCHARGES
How do I tell what type of ticket I was issued, how to pay it or where to go to court?
For tickets issued by the Sheriff’s Office the agency name will appear along the right hand side edge of the ticket, and the ticket number will contain an alpha letter as the third character in the ticket number. Determine which alpha letter (A, B, or C) your ticket contains and then following the example below that corresponds with your ticket:
EA0012345 or 13A12345 = This is a Model traffic code ticket and per the instructions on the back of your ticket, payment can be made online via the Traffic Ticket Portal, by mail or in person to the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office. You must pay within 20 days from the date you received the ticket. After the 20 days, the tickets are sent to the Douglas County Combined Courts and you must contact the Court at 720.437.6200 to change the court date. The violations on these tickets fall under the Model Traffic Code that was adopted by Douglas County. The location of the court to appear in is typed on the front of the ticket about half way down.
EB00067890 or 13B67890 = This is a Colorado State ticket issued by Douglas County Sheriff’s Office. Please refer to the back of the ticket you received for instructions on payment. All fees are paid directly to the State Department of Revenue, not the Sheriff’s Office. The violations on these tickets fall under the Colorado Revised Statutes and you can contact the State at 303.205.5610.
EC00012345 or 13C1234 = This is a Parking ticket of which payment can be made to the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office. Per the instructions on your ticket, payment can be made online via the Traffic Ticket Portal, by mail or in person to the Douglas county Sheriff’s Office. You must pay within 20 days from the date you received the ticket. After that the tickets are sent to the Douglas County Combined Courts and you must appear on the court date written on your ticket. You can not change your court date with the Sheriff’s Office, you must contact the Courts at 720.437.6200. The violations on these tickets fall under the Model Traffic Code that was adopted by Douglas County. The location of the court to appear is typed on the front of the ticket about half way down.
Tickets issued by a municipality within Douglas County or Colorado State Patrol
The municipalities within Douglas County and the Colorado State Patrol also issue traffic tickets, however they will have a different numbering system on them. They should have their agency name printed on them as well. If you are going to court it may be Douglas County Combined Courts or the city’s Municipal court. The address will be on the ticket. When in doubt please call Records at 303.660.7545.
SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR MINORS (Persons under 18 years of age)
If you are required to appear in court, you MUST be accompanied by a parent or a guardian. The parent or guardian and the juvenile MUST sign the citation and mail or pay in person, within 20 days from the date of the violation or appear in court. The parent or guardian’s signature MUST be notarized. Sending in the form without the necessary signatures will NOT constitute payment and WILL require a court appearance from the parent or guardian and the minor.
How can you tell if the ticket you received can be paid to the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office?
The copy of the ticket that the deputy gave you has instructions for payment. If it tells you that you have 20 days to make payment and the payments are directed to: The Douglas County Traffic Violations Clerk 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109 then you are allowed make the payment online at the Traffic Ticket Portal, mail in payment to address or pay in person.
Please DO NOT mail cash. You can bring in your payment during normal business hours to one of the following locations:
Douglas County Sheriff”s Office
4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109
Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Highlands Ranch Substation
9250 Zotos Drive, Highlands Ranch, CO 80126
Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
If you mail in payment please include the copy of the ticket with your payment so that proper processing may occur. If you do not make payment with the 20-day limit we will send your ticket to the Douglas County Combined Courts and you will be required to go to court on the and time specified on the front of your ticket. If you need to change your court date you must call the courts directly at 720.437.6200.
VALE (Victim Assistance and Law Enforcement) SURCHARGE
Pursuant to Douglas County Ordinance 999-002 there will be a surcharge of ten dollars ($10.00) for each violation on every penalty assessment. What does that mean? When you receive a County traffic ticket you will be assessed a $10.00 surcharge for each violation on that ticket. Therefore, if you have 2 violations, the surcharge is $20.00 and so on.
Where does this money go? At the end of every month all VALE surcharge monies collected by the Sheriff’s Office for County tickets is sent to the 18th Judicial District VALE Board. This is required by law. The board dispenses the money by grants to programs that provide services to victims of crime.
TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY SURCHARGE
Effective January 1, 2004 Colorado passed a law that requires law enforcement to collect a surcharge to supplement the Colorado Traumatic Brain Injury Fund. The surcharge is currently $17.00 for all speed related violations.
FAMILY FRIEND SURCHARGE
Effective January 1, 2013 Colorado passed a law that requires law enforcement to collect a surcharge to supplement the Family Friends Fund. The surcharge is currently $1.00 per violation.
You are required to pay any and all surcharges on your ticket in addition to the fine.