As of June 2, 2020 the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office will be following our normal procedures for all Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) requests.
For your safety and the safety of our staff please have a face mask with you when you come in. If you do not have a face mask you may be asked to leave and return with one. For the safety of yourself and our staff please do not come in if you are experiencing any illnesses, be advised you will be asked to answer some basic medical questions and may have your temperature taken.
Please download the complete CHP application from here and complete it prior to submitting your application in person.
When your 90 Day Temporary CHP expires, and if you seek to obtain the standard 5-year CHP, you will be required to:
Come into our office to be fingerprinted and photographed, as required by Colorado law, once notified to do so.
- Bring in a new CHP application.
- Your concealed handgun training certificate.
- Your Colorado Driver’s License.
- There is an additional fee to the Sheriff’s Office of $75.00 (waived if you are currently in the military or are a veteran of the military) plus the CBI fee of $52.50 which is paid by all applicants.
- Please do not sign your application until you are asked to by one of our staff members.
Please understand that we cannot complete your 5-year handgun permit until you are called to come into the office to be fingerprinted and photographed. You will be contacted when this process can be completed safely for you and our staff.
There will be no applications accepted after 4:00 pm, expect that there may be extended wait times as the process may take longer to keep everyone safe.
For questions please call 303-814-7660 or email email@example.com
You can apply for concealed handgun permits and renewals at two of the Sheriff’s offices. Please do not bring your weapon.
- Douglas County Sheriff’s Office – 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock 80109
Hours – Monday through Friday, except holidays, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- Highlands Ranch Substation – 9250 Zotos Drive, Highlands Ranch 80129
Hours – Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, except holidays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Get a new concealed handgun permit
The DCSO is committed to preserving citizens’ Second Amendment rights while ensuring community safety and adhering to the law.
To get a new permit:
- Download and print out new permit packet or pick one up from our offices.
- Do not sign the application. You must sign it under oath at the Sheriff’s Office.
- You’re required to turn in your application, supporting documents and payment in person.
- You’ll be photographed and fingerprinted when you submit your application.
- Pay a non-refundable $152.50 fee. That pays for the Colorado Bureau of Investigation’s fingerprint processing and the sheriff’s services. We accept credit cards, cash, and checks made payable to “Douglas County Sheriff’s Office.” Additional fees may apply for credit cards.
- Show proof of residency in Douglas County with a driver’s license, state ID or military ID.
**When valid proof of military service is presented at the time of the application submission, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office (DCSO) will waive DCSO fees – CBI fees will still be collected.
- Present certified training certificates that show you’re competent with a handgun. Note:Web-based handgun safety courses are allowed if the instructor has worked with the students face-to-face to evaluate their safety skills. Hunter safety education courses are not allowed. To check if your class meets the requirements, first, ask the Concealed Handgun Specialist at 303-814-7660.
Renew your permit
Temporary Renewal CHP Application Process
If you are renewing your Douglas County Sheriff CHP:
- You will receive your application in the mail.
- If you have moved here from another Colorado County or have not received your renewal application, please call 303-814-7660 and speak to one of our CHP Specialists.
- Once completing your Renewal Application, mail or email the application, the notarized affidavit, copy of Colorado driver’s license, copy of your current CHP, proof of military service, and the appropriate fees to firstname.lastname@example.org or fax it to 303-663-0688 or mail it to; 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109 Attn: Concealed Handgun Permits.
- A CHP Specialist will contact you after your paperwork has been received for credit card payment in your application did not accompany the fee payment. If for any reason you are not comfortable giving credit card information out over the phone, then you must mail in a check made payable to Douglas County Sheriff’s Office. Your permit will not be processed until funds are received.
Any questions please call 303-814-7660 and talk with one of our CHP Specialists.
Please note due to new laws in Colorado, you must submit your renewal in the County that you reside in.
If you are a Douglas County Resident and currently have a Douglas County Permit, within 90 days before your permit expires, you’ll be mailed a renewal application and an affidavit of continued firearms qualification. Complete them and have your signature notarized on both forms. You can also wait to sign and notarize the forms at the Sheriff’s Office for a $5 fee.
If you are a Douglas County Resident and currently have a permit issued from another county, within 90 days before your permit expires you may pick up the renewal application at the Sheriff’s Office in Castle Rock Monday through Friday, 0r at the Highlands Ranch Substation on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. The affidavit of continued firearms qualification will need to be notarized. You can have the form notarized here at the Sheriff’s Office for a $5 fee.
The cost to renew your permit is $63. The fee is for the Colorado Bureau of Investigation’s background check and for the Sheriff’s services. We accept credit cards, cash, and checks made payable to “Douglas County Sheriff’s Office.” Additional fees may apply for credit cards.
When you bring valid proof of military service at the time of the application submission, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office (DCSO) will waive DCSO fees. Note: CBI fees will still be collected.
If you’re still eligible to carry, you’ll get a new permit within 90 days.
Change of address
Need to tell us you’ve moved? Fill out this change of address form and mail it, drop it off or fax it to 303-688-2602.