Frequently Asked Questions

  • What happens if I get bit by an animal?

    If you have been bitten by an animal or your pet bites someone, call Douglas County Animal Services (DCAS) immediately at 303-660-7529. If the bite happens after normal hours of operation, contact the Sheriff’s Office at 303-660-7500.  Colorado law requires you to report all animal bites within 12 hours.

    An animal welfare officer will contact the owner and victim to complete a bite report and to quarantine the animal. Domestic pets are quarantined for 10 days from the date of the bite or exposure, including the day of the bite or exposure.

    Quarantines generally require confinement at the owner’s home to prevent the animal from wandering or coming into contact with other people or pets outside the household. Home quarantines are normally permitted unless the owner is unwilling or unable to securely confine the animal during the quarantine period or when there are dangerous animal charges filed or pending.

    If animals are not quarantined at home, they are confined at a veterinary hospital or the animal shelter. Officers determine quarantine sites based on the circumstances on a case-by-case basis. Home quarantines are not an owner’s right, but a courtesy extended to responsible owners. Quarantines at locations other than the owner’s home will be at the owner’s expenses.

    After the 10-day quarantine is over, DCAS will follow-up to ensure the animal does not exhibit any signs or symptoms that are consistent with the rabies virus and release the animal from quarantine.

    This is a matter of public safety and health and must be taken seriously.

  • What can I do about my pet's behavioral problems?

    Patience and consistency are the keys to successful training and behavior modification, but you must start with good information. The DCAS recommends obedience lessons for all canines, starting when they’re puppies. Consult local dog obedience clubs in the telephone directory, or contact breed or dog clubs for recommendations.  Consult local cat clubs or your veterinarian about behavior modification for cats.

    Most pets turned in to shelters are relinquished because of behavior problems, most of which are minor and can be easily corrected. Training makes your pet easier to live with, happier, better adjusted and a welcome community member.

  • Who do I call to remove a dead animal?

    Dead animals that are on public streets are picked up by a dead animal removal service administered by the Douglas County Sheriff Office. To request a dead animal to be picked up call DCSO Dispatch at 303-660-7500.

    Dead animals on Highways or Interstates are the responsibility of the Colorado Department of Transportation. For these services call 303- 757-9514.

    Douglas County Animal Services does not pick up dead animals, unless they are a pet wearing identification.

  • What do I do with my deceased animal?

    A deceased animal can be taken to your local veterinarian or to The Buddy Center located at 4556 Castleton Ct. Castle Rock, Colorado 80104.  We recommend that you call your veterinarian or The Buddy Center before transporting the animal so they can answer your questions.

  • My pet died and I'm grieving. Is that normal?

    The loss of an animal companion can be devastating and painful. For many, it’s as traumatic as losing a family member or a dear friend and can trigger an intense grieving process. It’s important to acknowledge the feelings and grieve.

  • Which parks can I take my dog off-leash?

    There are numerous off leash parks located in Douglas County. These parks are operated by several different organizations within Douglas County.

    Please visit Dog Off-Leash Areas for a complete listing or contact Douglas County Open Space at 303.660.7495.

  • How many dogs can I legally own?

    You are allowed to have four (4) adult dogs at one residence. An adult dog is defined as a dog that is 4 months of age or older.

    Resolution R-998-100 1.05 (4)

    No person shall keep or harbor more than four dogs of four months of age or older on any premises, unless such dogs are kept or harbored in a kennel approved pursuant to the Douglas County Zoning Resolution.