Effective Monday, August 11, the Highlands Ranch Substation will be accepting applications for new and renewal Concealed Handgun Permits on Wednesdays from 9 a.m .until 4 p.m. The substation is located at 9250 Zotos Drive Highlands Ranch, CO 80129.
Concealed Handgun Permits will also be accepted on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday at Castle Rock. You will need to come to Castle Rock to pick up your permit once complete.
New CHP Permits
Sheriff Spurlock is committed to preserving citizens’ Second Amendment rights while ensuring community safety and adhering to requirements of the law. The requirements set forth below strive to strike this sometimes sensitive balance. Please review the requirements below in order to avoid frustration and unnecessary expense.
Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP) is the new terminology under Colorado law for what used to be called Concealed Weapons Permits, or CCW.
You may either download the Information / Application Packet (PDF format) below, or pick one up from the Records Section of the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office located in the Robert A. Christensen Justice Center, 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, Colorado 80109.
Please do not sign the application until you are asked to do so by the sheriff’s office staff person receiving it from you. You must sign the application under oath, affirming under penalty of perjury that you know the contents of the application and that all of the information contained in the application is true, correct, and complete.
Completed applications must be submitted in person between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays only, except legal holidays, at our Castle Rock office. Application will be accepted at the Highlands Ranch Substation on Wednesdays from 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Please do not mail your application, supporting documents, or payment. These must all be submitted at the same time, in person.
You will be photographed and fingerprinted when you submit your application. Because all public fingerprints – including those taken for concealed handgun permits – are taken on a first-come, first-served basis, there may be a significant wait. Please allow sufficient time to complete the entire process.
The following items must be submitted with the application:
- A non-refundable combined fee of $152.50. This fee includes the Colorado Bureau of Investigation’s fingerprint processing fee, and all sheriff’s fees and costs. We accept cash, checks made payable to “Douglas County Sheriff,” and Visa or Mastercard (no other credit/debit cards accepted). Credit card payments will be charged an additional non-refundable convenience fee of $4.20, which cannot be waived.
- Proof of residency within Douglas County, Colorado (preferably a Colorado driver’s license, Colorado ID card, or military ID and duty orders).
- Documentary evidence demonstrating competence with a handgun as specified in the “Application Criteria ” section of the information packet (this can also be found in Colorado Revised Statutes section 18-12-203[h]). Please note that Internet-based handgun safety courses are acceptable as long as the instructor has met and worked with the students, face-to-face, to evaluate whether they can safely operate a handgun. The applicant must provide a training certificate from a certified instructor that includes: your name, course name, date of course, and the instructor’s original signature. Hunter safety education courses also do not satisfy this requirement, as their content is not specific to handgun safety. If you are unsure whether a class you are considering taking meets the training requirement, please call the Concealed Handgun Permit Specialist at 303-814-7660 prior to registering for the class.
Colorado law establishes different criteria and fees for persons seeking a temporary emergency permit under Colorado Revised Statutes section 18-12-209. See “Temporary Emergency Permits” in the information packet for details.
Please contact the Concealed Handgun Permit Specialist, Bob Britton, at 303-814-7660 if you have any questions.
Within 120 days prior to expiration of a permit, current permit holders will be mailed a renewal application form and an affidavit of continued firearms qualification. Complete the renewal application and affidavit, and have your signature notarized on both forms. This is different than the process for new applications. If you prefer, you may wait to sign and notarize these forms when you submit them at the sheriff’s office, but please be aware that we are required by law to collect a notary fee of $5.00.
The combined renewal fee is $63.00. This fee includes the Colorado Bureau of Investigation’s NCIS and criminal history fees, and all sheriff’s fees and costs. We accept cash, checks made payable to “Douglas County Sheriff,” and Visa or Mastercard (no other credit/debit cards accepted). Credit card payments will be charged an additional non-refundable convenience fee of $2.19, which cannot be waived.
Completed renewal applications and affidavits must be submitted in person between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except legal holidays, at our Castle Rock office. You may also submit completed applications and affidavits at out Highlands Ranch Substation Wednesday between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. A new photograph will be taken when you submit your renewal paperwork. Assuming your eligibility to possess a permit has not changed, your expiring permit will be exchanged for a new one within 90 days. Change of address forms can be dropped off at either the Castle Rock or Highlands Ranch offices during normal business hours; mailed to: 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109; or faxed at 303-688-2602.
PLEASE DO NOT BRING ANY WEAPONS WITH YOU WHEN YOU SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION.