The Douglas County Sheriff’s Office provides VIN verifications for our residents. VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) verifications are required when you move from another state to Colorado and want your vehicle registered here. A VIN inspection is a physical inspection of the vehicle’s unique identification number for title and registration purposes. Any Colorado Law Enforcement Officer can complete a VIN Verification form. The VIN inspection form is a State of Colorado form and is called the “Verification of Vehicle Identification Number, Colorado Dealer Statement and Application for Title and Registration,” form.
A law was passed and went into effect on July 1, 2005 revising CRS 42-3-126 Registration Upon Transfer, that allows operation of a motor vehicle without registering the vehicle only in the following situations:
- The vehicle is exempt from registration;
- The vehicle has been temporarily registered; or
- For the first 36 hours after purchase a buyer can drive the vehicle only if:
- Purchased on a weekend, legal holiday or between 5 p.m. and 8 a.m.
- Purchased from someone who is not a motor vehicle dealer;
- The vehicle can only be driven from where the seller kept it to where the buyer intends to keep it;
- The buyer has a bill of sale in the vehicle;
- The buyer has proof of insurance in the vehicle.
Effective September 13, 2010, there will be an $8.00 fee for each VIN Verification. The fee will be collected by the DMV at the time of registration and remitted to DCSO. VIN Verifications will normally be performed by Community Safety Volunteers, Monday thru Friday from 9:00 am – 4:00 pm.
A VIN Verification is a call a deputy or Community Safety Volunteer will respond to but could take a longer response time depending upon the call load, so please let dispatch know how long you will be at your residence when requesting a VIN Verification.